Main Logo for Providence College
Site Home> Graduate History Faculty

Graduate History Faculty

The following list of faculty represent the full-time members of the Providence College Department of History and Classics who also teach in the graduate program. You can learn more about their research and scholarship by going to their profiles.

As part of the implementation of a new curriculum, effective summer 2019, each student of the Graduate History Program will be assigned a faculty advisor. This new initiative will allow students to receive regular guidance and direction as they progress through the M.A. program. The participating Graduate Faculty Advisors and information on their work and achievements can be found below.

 


Dr. Edward Andrews
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
eandrews@providence.edu
Concentrations: Early America; the Atlantic world; race; slavery

 

Dr. Patrick Breen
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
pbreen@providence.edu
Concentrations: Slavery; African-American; Southern; 19th Century

 

Dr. Matthew Dowling
Assistant Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
mdowling@providence.edu
Concentrations: Modern France, French Empire

 

Dr. Vefa Erginbas
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
erginbas@providence.edu
Concentrations: Islamic and Middle Eastern History

 

Dr. Robin Greene
Associate Professor of History
rgreene2@providence.edu
Concentrations: Ancient Greek history and literature, especially post-Alexander the Great; Ancient popular literature and popular culture

 
Dr. Thomas Grzebien
Assistant Professor
grzebien@providence.edu
Concentrations: Medieval Europe

 

Dr. Karen Holland
Assistant Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
kholland@providence.edu
Concentrations: Early Modern Ireland, Irish History; Early Modern Europe

 

Dr. Melissa Huber
Assistant Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
mhuber3@providence.edu
Concentrations: Ancient Greek and Roman History; Urban History

 

Dr. Jennifer Illuzzi
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
jilluz1@providence.edu
Concentrations: Modern European History; Romani populations; Germany; Italy

 

Dr. Colin Jaundrill
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
jaundrill@providence.edu
Concentrations: East Asian History; Modern Japan

 

Dr. Jeff Johnson
Director, Graduate Program in History; Graduate Advisor
j.johnson@providence.edu
Concentrations: The American West, Labor History, The Gilded Age & Progressive Era

 

Dr. Margaret Manchester
Associate Professor of History
mmanch@providence.edu
Concentrations: American Foreign Relations; Cold War; Modern Middle East; Modern American Women

 

Dr. Sharon Ann Murphy
Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
sharon.murphy@providence.edu
Concentrations: 19th and 20th US social, economic, and business history; financial history; slavery

 

Dr. Paul O’Malley
Assistant Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
pomalley@providence.edu
Concentrations: 19th and 20th Century Ireland; Irish Catholicism; Irish in America

 

Rev. David Orique, O.P.
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
dorique@providence.edu
Concentrations: Colonial and Modern Latin America; Iberian Atlantic World History

 

Paul Quinlan
Professor of History
pquinlan@providence.edu
Concentrations: Modern Russia; Modern Eastern Europe

 

Dr. Osama Siddiqui
Assistant Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
osiddiqu@providence.edu
Concentrations: Modern Britain; British Empire; Modern South Asia; intellectual history and the history of economic thought; history of translation

 

Dr. Steven Carl Smith
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
ssmith32@providence.edu
Concentrations: The American Revolution; Early Republic; Urban History; Media

 

Dr. Adrian Weimer
Associate Professor of History, Graduate Advisor
aweimer@providence.edu
Concentrations: Colonial America; Early Modern England; Religious, Political, and Constitutional History